How Our Lives Have Changed: Our Adoption Story

Today wraps up our Our Adoption Story week on the blog. We’ve been celebrating Duke’s adoption this week in honor of October being Adopt a Dog Month.
So far this week we’ve featured: a bit about the rescue process and who the rescue organization, pictures from when we adopted Duke, and background on his name.

We’re using this opportunity to join the Follow Up Friday Blog Hope, sponsored by Heart Like a Dog & co-hosted by 2 Brown Dawgs  & wrap up our Our Adoption Story week.

follow-up-friday

So today I wanted to share some of the ways that our lives have changed since Duke joined the family:

  • I clean the house SO much more.
    I didn’t own a broom or a vacuum before we brought Duke home. Now, I spend at least 2 hours a week cleaning out 500 sq. foot apartment. Needless to say, I now have both a broom & a vacuum and a weekly cleaning schedule. Duke isn’t a big dog and he doesn’t have a lot of hair, but it somehow ends up everywhere. Props to all of you who have big, hairy, or multiple dogs! Did I also mention I have a white couch? Thank goodness it’s a slipcover!

    IMG_0837

    White couch = bad idea

  • We laugh a lot more.
    Duke is a funny dog. He always has us cracking up. Whether it is when we videotape him playing fetch in slow motion or watching him leap across the room after the Kong, he’s got such personality. We just learned today he likes jumping on the bed! He’s just plain adorable most times too which puts a huge smile on my face.

    IMG_0664

    Example: I cracked up when Duke demanded to be carried home from the park after he got stung by a bee.

  • We go through A LOT more peanut butter.
    Duke gets a peanut butter filled Kong every morning when I leave for work. Factor in how many PB&Js we eat and we’re going through a jar a week. (Shoutout to Teddie Peanut Butter, we love you!)

    IMG_1156

    Duke goes where the Kong goes.

  • We’re both more active & less active people.
    We’re less active in the sense that I’m not as likely to go out with friends after work because I don’t want Duke to be home for that long (it would mean 12+ hours alone for him, no way would I let that happen). But since there’s two of us, one of us can go out after work on Friday night and we  make it work.
    We’re more active in the physical sense. We take walks with Duke that we never did before. We also want to spend as much time on the weekends with him, so we’re spending more time outdoors, hiking, going to the beach, and finding dog-friendly activities (which are usually free or cheap, hidden plus!) This means more adventures & quality time for the two of us too.

    Duke leading the way at the start of the hike.

    Hiking with Duke.

  • It takes me longer to leave the house. 
    Which means I can be late to work if I don’t watch it! You’ve got to take him out to the bathroom one last time, prep the Kong, hide anything that he can put in his mouth (I mean EVERYTHING), close off the rooms he can’t go in, and make sure the heater/air conditioner is set to keep him comfy.
  •  I have to be fastidious about keeping anything he could eat out of his reach. 
    Which basically means I’ve had to childproof the place. All small objects out of reach, childproof locks on cabinets, cleaning supplies hidden, and all food up high instead of on the counters. He’ll get bored when we’re away and chew on anything (furniture excluded, thank goodness).
  • The bed is crowded. 
    I hate to admit it, but Duke sleeps with us in bed. He doesn’t even stay at the bottom of the bed like he should. I often wake up with his head on my pillow, which is kind of a sweet way to wake up since he’s such a cuddler. I can actually cuddle him like a teddy bear when we fall asleep.

    IMG_0998

    If he sleeps like this on the couch, you can only imagine what he’s like in bed!

  • It can be stressful and also stress relieving.
    For us, it’s only really stressful when Duke eats something he’s not supposed to. Especially trash. 😦 Or when the vet tells us he needs $500 worth of work and we have to decide what is actually necessary and what we can afford. But he’s a stress reliever much more than he a stress creator! There’s nothing like coming home to cuddle with our sweet boy after a hard day or a great day.

    IMG_0982

    Cuddle buddies!

  • I’m happier! 
    Duke helps me feel less lonely when Sam’s not home, helps me relax and de-stres, and makes me laugh – all of which make me a happier person.

    IMG_1137

    Woman’s best friend!

And of course the positives ALWAYS outweigh the not so nice parts. I just wanted to share some of the less obvious ways in which our lives have changed. I think everyone knows that you’ll spend more money but always have someone greet you at the door, but a dog impacts a lot more than that too. It’s been a lifestyle change in many ways, and I’d do it all over again in a heartbeat!

Q: How has your life changed in unexpected ways since you brought a pet into your home? By no means is this list exhaustive!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

10 thoughts on “How Our Lives Have Changed: Our Adoption Story

  1. What a wonderful story. I am so glad that you joined the hop! The secret to having multiple dogs and the fur they shed is that we just don’t clean. It is a big secret, but I am serious…lol. Your white couch reminds me of our navy blue couch. We got it the week before we got our first dog which was a golden retriever. For 12 years I vacuumed that long golden hair off that navy couch. It was a good quality couch, so it lasted forever. We finally got rid of it a couple of years ago.

    • That’s what I do now, vacuum it! I also can throw the cover in the washer which has been amazing. I’ve suspected that others take the just leave it approach, I can already tell that I’m developing more and more of that attitude the longer we have him. You just realize it will all be right back there again in a day or two so why bother!

  2. Oh my. What an adorable little guy!! And what a great post, it always makes me feel so good when I find other people who feel the same way I do about their dogs. Honestly, I could wake up in the middle of the night with Sampson’s head pressing into my stomach and it makes me smile that he loves me and wants to be near me.

    I also plan after work activities around the dogs too. 🙂

    Thanks so much for joining the blog hop, I hope you have a great weekend!

  3. Duke is SO adorable! Sheds, huh? Our leather couch has been a godsend. Nothing sticks to it. I’m slowly stockpiling laminate plank flooring to make cleaning the floors easier. Gah.

  4. Aww – I love that Duke cuddles! Blueberry is the only dog I’ve had that enjoys that and at first I didn’t know quite what to think of it. But waking up to her resting her head on my pillow or under my chin – is something I’ve become accustomed to and wouldn’t have it any other way now!

    Duke is quite the looker and I love that he had to be carried home after being stung by that big nasty bee! Too funny!

    I’m going to go back and read your other posts – I just found you through the Follow up Friday hop!

Leave a Reply

