Following Up on Friday

I wanted to take the chance on Follow Up Friday to follow up on some things we’ve been taking care of this week! Follow-Up Friday is the blog hop that wraps up your week and leads you right into the weekend. Hosted today by Heart Like a Dog and Donna and the Dogs.
follow-up-friday

Following Up on Duke’s Broken Nail:
We got Duke’s nails trimmed. It cost only $11 for grinding (not cutting) at PetSmart, so we took him in last weekend. We figured the $11 was totally worth it to avoid another bloody mess. This was Duke’s first time at the groomer since we’ve gotten him, so we weren’t sure how he’d do. Poor thing was so scared. They lured him in with a treat which he held in his mouth, but didn’t eat. The woman had to pick him up to put him on the table. As soon as she turned on the grinding machine, he spit the treat out and it went flying across the floor. Sam & I were standing in the room, so Duke could see us, but he did not look happy. He didn’t give the woman any trouble though and was a great sport during the actual grinding. She also mentioned that his once broken dew claw looks fine!

It was a great experience, for us at least! Maybe just okay for Duke. 🙂 We were so surprised to see how his new short nails meant he didn’t make any noise walking across our hardwood floors. Guess when he starts making lots of clicky-clacky noises again we’ll know it’s time for another trim!
Thank you all for your awesome advice around this, your suggestions to seek out a nail clinic are what lead us to look to PetSmart & actually get this done!

Following up on Confession: I’m Really Allergic to Dogs:
I’m so happy I was able to share my tips for living life with allergies & dogs! That you cannot live with pets if you have allergies is a myth that needs to be busted! It all depends on your level of commitment though. The last thing I would want is someone to adopt a dog thinking they could handle their allergies, realizing it was too hard, and returning the dog. So it is possible, but only if you’re willing to be a little uncomfortable from time to time and are committed to your dog (or other pet).

(Don’t worry, this isn’t my pillow!)

I also wanted to thank everyone who stopped by for Fetching on Wordless Wednesday! I will be sure to return the love as soon as I can.
I haven’t been able to participate in as many Blog Hops or keep up with my Bloglovin’ or my posts in the last few weeks. I’m so busy with the end of the semester approaching and have tons of homework and final projects to be working on (I’m currently in grad school). I promise that I haven’t forgotten about you all & cannot wait to catch up on what you all have been doing. Just know that if we’re not around as much it isn’t because we’ve lost interest in pet blogging, only that I have to finish my projects! 

Happy Weekend!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

17 thoughts on “Following Up on Friday

  1. That face is just the cutest thing ever. He looks so sad and betrayed on the groomer’s table. All of my kids have had that look at one time or another. 😉

  2. What a sad little face on that table. Do you have anything that vibrates that you could expose him to so it’s not such a bad experience for him when he goes for a trim? I have one of those grinders at home that neither of my guys like. I know if I turned it on and worked with them, I could condition them to tolerating it without too much issue. 🙂

    And thank you so much for joining the blog hop, I hope your classes are going well and you do great on your finals!

  3. Nice to know that Duke’s visit at Petco went well. I just wanted to mention that you might want to try and call some smaller pet shops or groomers. I now do my dogs nails, but there was a groomer in my area who did them for five bucks out of her house, and the pet store I now go to does them for free. 🙂

  4. Poor Duke. I can’t even bring Donna to any groomer. She starts trembling violently the minute she steps inside one. She absolutely refuses treats in there. But she’s much more comfortable with getting her claws trimmed at home now. She eats her treats and lies on her side until she gets fed up with her paws being handled, so nail trimming only happens a little but at a time and she has claws…. LOL

Leave a Reply

